Wednesday, May 12, 2010

The Expendables and the NON-Expendable

   I went on a Rocks Off Concert Cruise last night to see the Expendables play, and they were awesome! I had a great time with five other friends. Sadly I lost my Canon SD750 camera on board. It was my fault I wasn't more careful in toting it on my wrist. I have come to accept I won't be seeing my camera anymore and care less of it than the pictures that my friends and I took on board *sigh* 
It sucks to lose a camera I've grown so accustomed to, even more that I lost pictures as well, I can't even share it with you *pouts*


The Expendables.. love them. They are one of my favorite reggae/ska/rock bands. Who wouldn't like music that makes you want to chill and drink on a beach all day and maybe all night?  :) Gettin' Filthy and Open Container are two of the albums I have.. very entertaining and very funny. These guys are just too cool.


Check them out:


http://www.theexpendables.net
http://www.myspace.com/theexpendables
http://www.facebook.com/theexpendables                     











Get your copy of PROVE IT, new album released yesterday from Stoopid Records!




Random thought:


What do you do when you feel like somethings a miss with someone you're "dating" and you can't figure out what exactly it is? Is it a flaw of theirs? Is it something he or she lacks mentally or sexually? Is it superficial for one to have to be physically attracted to a person? 

Sunday, May 9, 2010

Iron Man Firenze

   So today my older brother took my mom, dad and I out to see Iron Man 2, believe it or not she enjoys watching comic book derived movies and she's 54. She even remembers parts of the first movie that I didn't lol. I personally enjoyed the movie, especially in IMAX. Ya gotta love when Stan Lee cameos in any comic book movie.. in a way it completes the film, sort of a stamp of approval. If any of you are planning to see IM2, don't rush out of the theater so quick no matter how much you'd like to piss.. stay tuned for the extra scene at the end of credits. If you're a fan of comic book heroes, you'll definitely be excited for the next sequel :)
   After the movies I treated them to an upscale Italian restaurant called Firenze. Oh-Em-Gee.. great food. I especially loved the Bass on the special menu. The Bass almost tasted like crab but juicy like steak.. it was sooo good. I'm not much of a cook so I can't really describe the way it was cooked but just that it exceeded my expectations :)
   I felt bad for my sister who wanted to surprise my mother. She and my brother in law drove all the way to my mom's house just to surprise her with catered food, gourmet cake and of course, a gift. She didn't know we were out and about. I told her she should've called first. I felt a bit guilty for I failed to let her know we'd be out.. I didn't think she would be going to her house because we officially celebrated Mother's Day last weekend with the whole family.. oh well.

   Today I thought about a man who I hung out with a few times for the last year. The last time we hung out it was for a movie and then dinner. We rarely talk of very personal topics.. and this particular night we did. One of them was of relationships. He talked of how many long relationships he's ever had. I've always known he'd been divorced some years ago, though he wasn't the one who told me. That night, he brought up how he was previously married and how his marriage ended. How? I asked. It was because he didn't want any kids. I didn't want to pry and ask him why he didn't tell her before they got married so I left it alone and let him continue what he was saying. Afterwards all I asked was, "wouldn't you feel lonely when you get older?" I don't quite recall what his response was because I was a bit distracted I should say. I personally never met a man who didn't want kids at all. I mean I've met men who didn't want kids at the time but it didn't mean they didn't want kids someday. I've even met men who didn't want kids at all and after they dated a woman whom they thought would be really worth it they changed their minds... but no not this one. I've gotta admire him though for being honest about the issue. He knew what he didn't want and what he wants. He didn't want to have to change his plans to take his son to a soccer game nor his daughter to a ballet class. He didn't want to be hassled by waking in the middle of the night to change a baby's diaper and enduring its cries. I can respect that. Even though he was well to do, I can also understand why you wouldn't want to hire nannies to take care of your child if you really didn't want kids in the first place... you would fail as a father. Why be a father if you can't fulfill your fatherly duties? So when I walked home that night I thought about our conversation. What if one day I meet "the guy" and he didn't want kids? What if he was "perfect" in every way but dislikes the idea of being a father? Would I continue the relationship? Would I consider NOT having any of my own? I started thinking about whether or not I myself would be a suitable mother. To be honest, at the rate I'm going.. by the time I probably would decide to have kids it would be too late. I'm now 30 and single, still "dating" and with no true relationships.. not even a possible one. I am not even trying to look for the perfect guy because we all know that doesn't exist. To put it simply, I want to end up with someone I am in tune with.. harder to find than you think. In high school I never thought I would date more than a handful of men. Don't get me wrong I've only been in four BF/GF relationships. But I will be honest, I can't remember how many men I've gone on dates with since college.. there were so many that I don't even know if I can remember all their names. That doesn't mean I'm a man-eater does it? Ugh..

Enough rants for the night.

Happy Mother's Day to all you moms out there. I definitely would like to be one someday... if that chance ever comes..